When I click on a different term, why do I have to log in again?

Each term we use an updated version of Moodle. This means that each term the program that is running is really a different program and thus requires that you provide a new user verification when you move to a new term. (We take very seriously the privacy and security of all the information in Moodle.) In the near future, we hope to make one log in work throughout the various terms and various Moodle sites, but we have not been able to do that so far.